Mom asks, “Why me?”

Es' Place

Mom had the deepest respect for doctors, and almost always took any medication prescribed to her.  She also saw fit to stop any medication she thought she didn’t need without consulting her doctor. Often, she would say, “There were no more refills,” or “It does nothing to help.”

One such time I could remember was when mom visited California a few months after she started medication for hypertension. She came without refills since the doctor in New York didn’t tell her to refill it. Two weeks into her visit, I came home to mom standing alone in the garage, holding a towel to her nose. Bleeding, she cried, “I don’t want to get your floor full of blood.” Panicked, we rushed to Mission Hospital, where the doctor packed her nose with gauze after waiting a few hours, then sent her home with several refills of medication for high blood pressure. The caring doctor made her…

View original post 333 more words

About columbo1es

Female, aspiring writer. I've been writing my mothers memoirs for 4 years. First draft is complete. Holocaust Revelations is about the journey I took gathering and researching information world wide, and the relationships I formed trying to connect the dots to my mothers past.
This entry was posted in Es' Place. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

