Catching My Breath

I almost “died laughing” yesterday.

Having some time to kill prior to being picked up for a good friends birthday party, I turned the TV on to “Bridesmaids.”  If you’ve not seen this movie, rent it or check with your cable channels for the next viewing. While I can’t tell you who the stars are, the women in the movie all portrayed their characters with comedic finesse. The part of the movie that nearly did me in was when the bride and her bridesmaids visit a snobby, haute couture bridal shop to pick out  dresses for the big day. There’s one “down to earth” character in the movie who can’t quite spend as much on her dress as the others, so she argues the point for the plain, light pink dress. (In my opinion, it was the nicest of the pick anyway.)

The women  had a “fine lunch” in a classy establishment before visiting the dress shop, and all but one got sick.  Food poisoning creeps up on the women while trying on several frocks. Sweat starts pouring out of the women and the  bowel sounds coming from them is what got me started on my choke infused laughter. I have to admit,  I find farts to be hysterical. There is a race to the bathroom, where one classy blonde ejects vomit to the back of the toilet, while the Rosie O’Donnell type character decides to let go (from the rear) in the sink. One after the other, the women barge right in and it’s a marathon of vomit and . . .

The future bride can’t contain herself, and there is no other place to go except in the street. She looked like a huge marshmallow that melted into the pavement as she let it go. This is comedy at its best. I know, I know: pedestrian and sophomoric, but none the less, funny. Truth be told, I never expected it from a cast of women.

Ok, back to my near death experience. I started to laugh so hard, no sound came out. I couldn’t catch my breath. It was as if my throat closed. Have you ever laughed like that? It was my first time. Finally, a shriek and then the tears . . . I laughed so hard I cried. I’m sure only seconds passed, but it seemed like minutes. I wasn’t scared, but I wanted to see more.

Then the doorbell rang.

I hope “Bridesmaids” is on again this week so I can see more. I promise to make it through alive.

About columbo1es

Female, aspiring writer. I've been writing my mothers memoirs for 4 years. First draft is complete. Holocaust Revelations is about the journey I took gathering and researching information world wide, and the relationships I formed trying to connect the dots to my mothers past.
This entry was posted in Es' Place, Friends, Life and Death, near death experience and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

